Membres

Centre d’arts Fernand Léger

Implanted in the former home of the Saint Gobain factory’s directors, the Fernand Léger Arts Centre of Port de Bouc is a synergy of the town’s fine arts school, the active programming of temporary exhibitions and the regular welcoming of artists in residencies. The structure aims to showcase the territory’s value, to support the arts and the access to culture for everybody, following a logic of popular and public education.

Every year, 3 to 5 plastic artists are welcomed for projects mainly linked to showcasing the territory (its history, geography, sociology) as well as developing partnerships and participative actions (Voyons Voir, Manifesta 13). All artistic mediums are showcased (drawing, painting, sculpture, photography). At the heart of the structure are arranged workshop and accommodation spaces to enable the artists to immerse themselves in the structure. During each residency, artists are able to meet the local population, to participate in mediation actions with adults and children, before the final exhibition showing the work produced during the residency. Theses residencies are either the result of calls for applications (for example the annual “Nouveaux collectionneurs” call for applications), or the result of one-time invitations, and are divided according to their length of time in “classic residencies” or “micro-residencies”.


photo_centre_darts-exte_rieur_credit_julien_lamarre.jpgCrédit Julien Lamarre

available means

The “classic” residencies are given a total budget of 3000€ per artist, meant to cover the honorary fees, per diem, artistic production, exhibition rights, visits of the workshop during
the residency, and visits of the exhibition via specific mediation actions (visits and meetings).
The “micro-residencies” are given a total budget of 1500€ per artist, meant to cover the honorary fees, per diem, artistic production, exhibition rights, visits of the workshop during
the residency, and visits of the exhibition via specific mediation actions (visits and meetings).
The defrayal of transport fees can also be considered, with a maximum percentage according to the distance.
Artist have at their disposal a living space (bedroom, workshop, kitchen, shower room) where is arranged basic furniture (bed, desk, wardrobe, internet connexion…) but the structure is not a classic hotel establishment therefore the artists are required to provide with their personal belongings such as bedding and hygiene products.
Artists can share the collective art school’s workshop area of 130m2. An exhibition area of about 200 m2 is entirely dedicated to the final exhibition.
Artists are encouraged to bring their own tools, although basic tools are available on site (paper, pencils, paint, paintbrushes…). The global artistic allowance given by the Arts Centre
is also meant to provide specific tools.
The Arts Centre staff is there to provide technical and scientific support, to establish contacts with the local population and to encourage exchanges. The staff of the Arts Centre and, if needed, the technical services of the town, are available to put together the exhibition and to carry out the mediation actions during the visits of the exhibition.
The Arts Centre also takes care of the communication, potential publications, promotion (public relations, social media etc.), insurance during the exhibition, the potential workshops and lessons carried out by the artist addressed to the public (payed 60€ per hour), the possible conferences scheduled (payed 300€).

  • Duration

The residencies of the Fernand Léger Arts Centre can last for 1 to 5 months (divided between “classic residencies” and “micro-residencies”), in a row or divided up.

  • selection process

There are two different procedures according to the projects of the year:

- calls for application (about 2 a year)

- invitations (about 2 a year)

In any case the artists have to provide:

A resume (curriculum vitae)

A portfolio

A statement of intent

A certificate of civil liability for the duration of the residency

When it is possible, a visit of the structure is also planned.

Residencies based on calls for application:

The aim is to release calls for application for the specific projects planned throughout the year, such as for Heritage Days (as part of the participative committee “les Nouveaux collectionneurs” for example, which consists in supporting around ten volunteers new to the art world to choose an artist) or the Spring of Contemporary Art, targeted according to the themes that are tackled, in order to discover the work of new artists.

Residencies based on invitations:

The aim is to welcome well-known artists we found relevant for specific projects or selected themes. For example, from 2014 to 2020, the TALENT’ARTS artists have all been invited after being identified during exhibition or directly in local art schools. 


  • Obligations of the residents


  • The artists in residency commit to producing several works which will be present during the final exhibition. They commit to being there to assist the staff made available by the structure for the assembly and the disassembly of the exhibition.
    They commit to staying available, according to a schedule they establish themselves, for any meeting or intervention to the public (presenting the work in progress during visits, meetings with resource persons, press meetings etc).
    They commit to taking care of the tools and the premises made available and to respect the rules of communal living (the art school being on site).
    They commit to make available copyright-free imageries created during the residency to produce publications and communication mediums meant to showcase the value of the work produced, without a duration limit. 


  • Actions towards audiences

Various mediation actions are set up to make several targeted publics aware of the Fernand Léger Arts Centre’s residencies programs. These actions constitute special moments with the players in the contemporary creation. 

Actions included in the residency:

- Research phase:
Meetings organized with several resource persons (adults and children) in order to enable the artists to feed their creation with important information. 

- Creation phase:
Visits of the workshop are planned so that artists can explain their approach and the work in progress, with groups of adults, professionals, press, young people in reintegration programs, partner cultural structures, and also school groups, particularly via the EAC plan “La Joconde est dans l’atelier”. 

Complementary actions (by means of payment of a supplementary fee):
- lessons, workshops or masterclasses for young and adult audiences in order to pass on a specific practical savoir-faire linked to the residency.
- conferences are also regularly organized with the artists to give more theoretical and formal key elements on the essence of their work. 

During the exhibition: 
- group visits guided by the Art Centre staff, artists are not necessarily required to be there. 










Contact

Centre d’arts Fernand Léger
Château Saint Gobain
1 avenue du Général de Gaulle 
F-13110 Port de Bouc
T:+33 4 42 43 31 20
 centre.arts@portdebouc.fr

centrefernandleger.com

Membres

Centre d’arts Fernand Léger

Implanté dans l'ancienne demeure des directeurs de l'usine Saint Gobain, le Centre d'arts Fernand Léger de Port de Bouc est une synergie entre l'école d'arts plastiques municipale, la programmation active d'expositions temporaires et l'accueil régulier d'artistes en résidence. Œuvrant pour la mise en valeur du territoire, il favorise les arts et leur accessibilité à tous dans des logiques d'éducation populaire.

Chaque année, 3 à 5 plasticiens sont accueillis pour des projets majoritairement en lien avec le territoire (histoire, géographie, sociologie...) mais également dans des logiques participatives et partenariales (Voyons Voir, Manifesta 13...). Tous les médiums artistiques sont mis à l'honneur (dessin, peinture, sculpture, photo...). Des espaces d'ateliers et d'hébergements sont aménagés au coeur de la structure pour permettre aux artistes une immersion complète. Chaque résidence fait l’objet de rencontres locales et d’ateliers de médiation pour des publics adultes et enfants, avec les artistes, puis d’une exposition-restitution. Ces résidences sont soit le fruit d’appels à candidature (ex: « Nouveaux collectionneurs », appel à candidature annuel) soit d’invitations ponctuelles et se répartissent selon leur durée en « résidences classiques » ou « micro-résidences »

photo_centre_darts-exte_rieur_credit_julien_lamarre.jpgCrédit Julien Lamarre

Moyens disponibles

Les résidences "classiques" sont dotées d'une enveloppe globale de 3000 € par artiste destinée à couvrir les frais d'honoraires, per diem, production artistique, droits d'exposition et ouverture d'atelier au public durant la résidence puis durant le temps de l'exposition pour des médiations spécifiques : visites et rencontres
Les "micro-résidences" sont dotées d'une enveloppe globale par artiste de 1500 € destinée à couvrir les frais d'honoraires, per diem, production artistique, droits d'exposition et ouverture d'atelier au public durant la résidence puis durant le temps de l'exposition pour des médiations spécifiques : visites et rencontres
Un défraiement de transport peut aussi être envisagé dans la mesure d’un pourcentage maximum en fonction des distances
L’artiste dispose d’un espace de vie (chambre, atelier, cuisine, salle d’eau) où sont aménagés les accessoires de base (lit, bureau, armoire, connexion internet…etc), mais il ne s’agit en aucun cas d’une structure hôtelière classique (l’artiste est tenu d’amener ses effets personnels : couchage et hygiène).
L'artiste a la possibilité de partager l'atelier de travail collectif de l'école d'art de 130 m2
Un lieu d’exposition d’environ 200m2 est entièrement dédié à sa restitution finale
L’artiste est invité à amener son propre matériel, bien qu'un matériel de base soit présent sur place et à sa disposition (papier, crayons, peinture, pinceaux….etc). La fourniture d’un matériel spécifique est prévue dans l'allocation artistique globale donnée par le Centre d'arts (production artistique).
Le personnel du Centre d’arts est présent pour apporter son soutien technique et scientifique à l’artiste, pour établir des contacts avec la population locale et favoriser les échanges. Il est aussi à sa disposition pour le montage de son exposition-restitution (équipes du centre d'arts + services techniques de la commune le cas échéant) et pour assurer les médiations durant les visites de l'exposition.
Le centre d’arts prend également en charge : la communication, les publications éventuelles, la promotion (relations presse, réseaux...etc), les assurances durant le temps de l'exposition-restitution, les workshops/stages éventuels assurés par l'artiste à destination de publics jeunes ou adultes (rémunérés 60€/h), les conférences éventuelles programmées (rémunérées 300€)

  • Durée 

Les résidences au Centre d’arts Fernand Léger peuvent s’étendre de 1 à 5 mois (différence entre « résidences classiques » et « micro-résidences ») selon un calendrier consécutif ou fractionné.

  • Modalités de sélection 

Elles sont de deux natures en fonction des projets de l'année :
 - sur appel à candidature (environ 2 par an)
 - sur invitation (environ 2 par an)

Dans tous les cas les artistes doivent fournir :
un CV
un portfolio
une note d'intention
une attestation de responsabilité civile pour le temps de la résidence
quand elle est possible, une visite d'atelier est aussi prévue.

Les résidences sur appel à candidature :
 Il s'agit de diffuser pour des projets particuliers dans l'année, comme les Journées du Patrimoine (dans le cadre du dispositif participatif les "Nouveaux collectionneurs" par exemple, consistant à accompagner une dizaine de bénévoles néophytes du monde de l'art dans le choix d'un artiste) et le Printemps de l'art contemporain, des appels à candidature ciblés en fonction des thématiques abordées, afin de découvrir le travail de nouveaux artistes.

Les résidences sur invitation :
 Il s'agit d'inviter des artistes déjà connus et jugés pertinents pour certains projets ou thématiques de travail choisis. De 2014 à 2020 les artistes du TALENT'ARTS ont, par exemple, tous fait l'objet d'invitations suite à des repérages faits dans des expositions ou directement dans les écoles d'art de la région.

  • Obligation des résidents

  •  

    Les artistes en résidence s’engagent à produire un ensemble de travaux qui feront l’objet d’une exposition-restitution en fin de période. Ils s’engagent à être présents et à assister  le personnel mis à disposition par la structure d’accueil pour le montage et le démontage de l’exposition.
    Ils s’engagent à demeurer disponible, en fonction d’un calendrier qu’ils ont eux-mêmes établi, pour toute rencontre et intervention auprès d’un large public (présentation du travail en cours dans le cadre de visites, présentation de personnes ressources rencontres journalistiques…etc).
    Ils s’engagent à prendre soin du matériel et des locaux mis à disposition et à respecter les consignes de vie en communauté (proximité immédiate de l’école d’arts…etc).
    Ils s’engagent à mettre à disposition des visuels libres de droit créés durant le temps de la résidence pour la production de tout support (communication et publication) destiné à valoriser l’ensemble du travail produit sans limitation de durée.

    •  
  • Actions vers les publics 

Différentes actions de médiation sont mises en place pour sensibiliser les divers publics cibles aux programmes de résidences du Centre d'arts Fernand Léger. Elles sont appréhendées comme un moment de rencontre privilégié avec les acteurs de la création contemporaine

Actions intégrées à la résidence :
 - phase de recherche :
 Rencontres organisées avec différentes personnes ressources (adultes et enfants) dans le but de permettre à l'artiste de se nourrir d'informations essentielles à son travail de création. Elles peuvent prendre la forme d'ateliers en groupes mais aussi de rendez-vous individuels.
 
 - phase de création :
 Les visites d'atelier sont prévues pour expliquer démarche et travail en cours à destination de groupes adultes, de professionnels de l'art, presse, groupes de jeunes en réinsertion, structures culturelles partenaires, mais bien évidemment groupes scolaires notamment via le dispositif d'EAC "la Joconde est dans l'atelier".

Actions complémentaires (faisant l’objet d’une prise en charge financière supplémentaire) :
 - des stages, workshops ou masterclasses pour publics jeunes et adultes afin de transmettre un savoir-faire pratique particulier en lien avec la résidence.
 - Des conférences sont aussi régulièrement organisées avec les artistes pour donner des clefs plus théoriques et formelles sur l’essence des travaux entrepris.

Pendant l’exposition :
 Visites de groupes accompagnées par les équipes du centre d'art, sans présence obligatoire de l'artiste
 

 

Contact

Centre d’arts Fernand Léger
Château Saint Gobain
1 avenue du Général de Gaulle 
13110 Port de Bouc
04 42 43 31 20
 centre.arts@portdebouc.fr
centrefernandleger.com